What the New Federal Discrimination Laws Mean to You

Section 1557 prohibits health care providers that receive Medicare, Medicaid or other federal funding sources from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability. The requirements of the Section 1557 Rules, which were recently adopted by DHHS, requires providers to take many affirmative steps to comply with the law including, adopting nondiscrimination policies, providing free language assistance to individuals with limited English proficiency, and accommodating individuals with disabilities.

Under the new 1557 Rules, providers must also post specific notices relating to their nondiscrimination policy and language assistance practices. Health care providers with more than fifteen employees have special obligations to adopt a patient discrimination grievance policy and appoint a civil rights coordinator.

Matthew W. Wolfe, JD, Partner @ Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein
Robb Leandro JD, Partner @ Parker Poe Adams & Bernstein
Discounted member price: 45.00
You could save: 54.5%