***The NC Home Care Licensure Training Class at AHHC will be held virtually until further notice.***

Licensure Applicant Training

UPDATE - July 1, 2019
Effective July 1, 2019, the in-home aide moratorium has expired.
See the announcement from NC DHSR AHCLCS.

Scroll below to see class dates and information and to download the registration form.
To register online, you must create an online account.

Additional class dates will continue to be posted.

About Licensure
Licensure is required for any operating North Carolina Home Care Agency and is issued by the North Carolina Division of Health Service Regulation. To understand the licensure process, please read the information posted at each link below.

DHSR Licensure Information - Establishing a Home Care Agency
DHSR Home Care and Hospice Licensure Survey Checklist

Licensure Applicant classes taught by the Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC offer nurse contact hours for nurses attending the entire class. The Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC is an approved provider of continuing nursing education by the North Carolina Nurse's Association, an accredited approver by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

Association Membership

It is important for agencies to become members of their state Association to receive regulatory and legislative updates, as well as education to advance your business, member discounts from trusted vendors, and advocacy at the state and federal levels. AHHC has 47 years of experience in leading and advocating for home care and our experienced staff have more than 200 years of combined expertise. We encourage you to consider joining our Association once your agency has become licensed.

Instructor: Kathie Smith, BSN, RN, Vice President of Home Care and State Relations for the Association for Home & Hospice Care of NC

Kathie Smith, BSN, has been with the Association for Home and Hospice Care of NC (AHHC of NC) since 2004. Prior to her employment at the Association, she worked with NC Medicaid in the Home Care Policy section. Mrs. Smith has extensive experience working with the Division of Health Service Regulation (DHSR) on Home Care licensing rules, laws and regulations as well as with NC Medicaid on policy and billing requirements.


$625 per agency

  • Covers 2 agency representatives
  • One of the attendees must be the agency owner 

$300 per additional representative

Register Online »

Upcoming Dates:
November 4, 2020
December 16, 2020
January 13, 2021

Payments must be made online via credit card at the time of registration OR via check mailed in with the registration form below.
Download Registration Form »

Click to Order On Demand
Access to AHHCVC2020!

Content Available Through 9/28/21
Earn Nurse Contact Hours
Watch Sessions at Your Convenience